POPGUN 4 wins a Harvey Award!

This post is late. I should’ve gathered my thoughts and posted something by now, but the busy hasn’t stopped since the Baltimore Comic-Con. It was an amazing time, sharing a table with Adam P. Knave (who already posted this thoughts on the matter far more eloquently here) and meeting lots of swell people.

One of the highlights for me, of course, was POPGUN 4 winning the 2011 Harvey Award for Best Anthology!

Adam and me, still in shock over the Harvey win.

I’ve been working on the POPGUN books since volume 1. It was my break into comics, which had always been a dream, so I can’t thank Mark Andrew Smith and Joe Keatinge enough for the opportunity. Like all of the POPGUN books, POPGUN 4 was a labor of love. A very time consuming and sometimes difficult and worrisome labor of love, but there was always love. We all did it for the love of comics!

Co-editing with Anthony Wu and Adam was a great collaboration, assembling a collection of stories that none of us would’ve put together individually. Thomas Mauer and Jeff Powell did amazing work on the production edits/design, and the book wouldn’t exist without them. Those guys… yep, those are good guys.

And the contributors! We were able to assemble an amazing lineup of talent, and I want to thank all of them!

So, thank you… Alison ActonAttila AdorjanyAmanda BeckerMichael BirkhoferJohn BivensElliot BlakeDavid BrenionShana BrenionJeffrey BrownLars BrownAntonio CampoDominique CarrierJim CharalampidisDavid Collinson, Bill Crabtree, Dave Curd, Michelle Davies, Vito DelsanteTodd DezagoMichael DialynasJeik DionBecky DreistadtAlex Eckman-LawnNick EdwardsPaolo FerranteJess FinkJoe FloodFonografiksElizabeth GencoFrank GibsonVassilis GogtzilasNils Hamm, Mike Houlihan, Alice HuntMeg HuntJason Ibarra, Fernanda Jaber, JockAndrea KalfasJanet KimNikos KoutsisErik LarsenErwin LedfordStuart LivingstonMaximo V. LorenzoRobert LoveAdam LucasManoel MagalhãesJohn MalloyFell MartinsDerek McCullochMichael Meier, MJ, Chris Moreno, Wayne NicholsRalph NieseJM Ken NiimuraKieran OatsAnthony PeruzzoElton PruittStephanie RamirezDarren Rawlings, Stephen ReedyAndy RistainoSalgood Sam, Eric Sandhop, Matteo ScaleraThomas ScioliBrandon SeifertJonathan SilvestreFrank StocktonNick TapalanskyBen TemplesmithJeremy TinderMike TorisOsmarco ValladãoDavid WalkerAngie WangMatthew WeldonAnna WieszczykBrian WinkelerMichael WoodsK.I. ZachopoulosAlexis Ziritt!

Big thanks, of course, to Image Comics, for publishing four giant POPGUN books so far… wow! They all obviously love comics, too, and it’s much appreciated.

In the end, it was an honor to be nominated and a huge, delightful surprise to win. My hope is a few folks who normally wouldn’t have read the book will now check out POPGUN 4.

And now… time to make MORE comics!